Chocolate Brownies

IMG_4007

 I think brownies may just be my favourite type of cake, which could be down to the fact that they are so chocolatey and I have a very big sweet tooth! 😀 I have tried many different recipes over the years and I think this one I put together makes the most delicious, perfect chocolate brownies.


Ingredients:

  • 180g butter
  • 180g dark chocolate (I used Cadbury Bournville as I find it less bitter than other dark chocolates, which I prefer as I dislike dark chocolate)
  • 150g light brown muscovado sugar
  • 100g golden caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp Madagascan vanilla natural extract
  • 70g plain flour
  • 50g coco powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder

Cooking instructions:

  1. First put the butter and chocolate in a bowl and place over a saucepan of boiling water. Keep stirring until everything has melted then take off the heat and leave to cool. Untitled
  1. While the chocolate mixture is cooling, beat the eggs and sugar together until light and fluffy. IMG_3969
  1. In another bowl sift the flour, coco powder and baking powder together and mix.
  1. Once the chocolate mixture is completely cooled gradually fold into the egg and sugar mixture (fold rather than mix to keep as much air in the egg mixture as possible). IMG_3977
  1. Next add the vanilla and gently fold in.
  1. Gradually sift in the flour mixture and again gently fold in. IMG_3978
  1. Pour the mixture into a cake tin (mine was approx. 20 cm square tin and I lined it with baking paper) and place into the oven to cook at 180˚C for approximately 20 minutes or until cooked.IMG_3994
  1. Once cooked, leave to cool in the tin first then transfer onto a cooling rack. Once cooled it’s ready to be cut and eaten.IMG_4008

I just made plain chocolate brownies but you can also add chocolate chips or nuts if that how you prefer your brownies. These are absolutely delicious and I have a hard time not eating them all as soon as they come out of the oven! Thank you for reading and feel free to leave me a comment if you have any questions 🙂

Leave a comment