Lemon Drizzle Muffins

IMG_2042 (2)

A couple of days ago it was lovely and sunny and warm for the first time this year and it felt like spring, or even summer, was finally on its way! (I can’t wait! Summer is my favourite season. I love the warmth, and the sun, and going to the beach….). Walking around in the sunshine put me in the mood to deviate from my usual favourite chocolatey bakes, and bake something light and summery, like fresh lemon drizzle muffins 🙂 The nice weather was however, short lived, and it’s miserable and raining again so chocolate bakes will be back next week 😀 I have an idea in mind for some chocolate orange muffins… Yum. The recipe below makes 12 deliciously lemony muffins.


Ingredients:

  • For the muffins:
    • 1 egg
    • 125 ml milk
    • 60 ml vegetable oil
    • Juice from ½ lemon
    • 1 tsp vanilla extract
    • 125g caster sugar
    • 200g self-raising flour
    • 1 tsp baking powder
    • Zest from 2 lemons
  • For the lemon drizzle:
    • Juice from 1 and ½ lemons
    • 5 tbs caster sugar (add to taste, if you prefer a sharper taste add less sugar and if you prefer a sweeter taste add more sugar)
  • For the icing:
    • Remainder of the lemon drizzle
    • Icing sugar

What to do:

  1. Beat together the egg, milk, vegetable oil, lemon juice and vanilla. IMG_2012 (2)
  1. Gradually add the sugar and continue to whisk. 
  1. Next add the flour and baking powder and mix (be careful not to over mix), then add the lemon zest. 
  1. Spoon the mixture into the muffin cases and place in the oven for 20 mins at 180˚. IMG_2017 (2)
  1. Whilst the cakes are cooking prepare the lemon drizzle. I added the juice from the remaining 1 and ½ lemons to a saucepan on low heat, and added sugar 1tbs at a time until it tasted sweet enough. I prefer to leave mine a bit sharper as I think it goes well with the sweetness of the muffin.
  1. When the muffins come out the oven poke a few holes in each and spoon over as much lemon drizzle as desired, then move the muffins onto a cooling rack. I found I didn’t need to use all of the drizzle.                                                                                         IMG_2020
  1. When the muffins are cool prepare the icing and decorate. I decided to use up the remainder of the lemon drizzle to make my icing, just mixing drops into the icing sugar until the consistency was right (don’t want it to be too thick or too runny).

IMG_2021 (2).JPG

Leave a comment