Apple and Cinnamon Muffins

IMG_3248

I always love to bake around Christmas time and I love to try different festive recipes. This year my friend and I were having a baking day and decided we should make something Christmassy. We started brainstorming what flavours we could add to our muffins to make them Christmassy, and cinnamon immediately came to mind. We decided to pair the cinnamon with apple and I absolutely love how they turned out. These apple cinnamon muffins were the perfect way to start off my Christmas baking and get me into the festive Christmas spirit.


Ingredients:

  • 50g butter
  • 50g caster sugar
  • 22g light brown soft sugar
  • 1 egg
  • ½ tsp ground cinnamon (more if you would like a stronger cinnamon taste)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 125ml apple sauce
  • 95g plain flour

This amount of ingredients made 6 muffins.


Cooking instructions:

  1. Start by mixing the caster sugar and brown sugar together, and then cream the butter and sugars until smooth and fluffy.
  1. Next add the egg and mix well.
  1. Once the egg is mixed in add the baking powder, bicarbonate of soda and the cinnamon (you can add however much cinnamon you would prefer depending on how strong you would like the cinnamon taste to be. The cinnamon taste I got using ½ tsp was quite subtle). IMG_3183
  1. Next add the apple sauce and mix well.
  1. Finally sieve and mix in the flour until the mixture is smooth, then spoon into muffin cases. IMG_3204
  1. Cook at 180˚C for 20 minutes until the muffins are golden brown.IMG_3221

These muffins taste great as they are, but you can always finish them off with a topping if you wish. I decided to add some melted white chocolate to the top of mine as I absolutely love chocolate. Thank you for reading, if you have any questions please feel free to leave a comment or contact me at paperandpanblog@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “Apple and Cinnamon Muffins

  1. Arielle December 9, 2014 / 8:40 pm

    Oh yum ❤ I love your blog! Your recipes all look so amazing 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment