Vegetable Stacks

IMG_2951

I’ve seen some recipes that make individual potato gratin using a muffin tin, which I thought was a really clever idea, and I recently came across a YouTube video by Dearmamasal who made these, adding in carrots and onions. She gave me the idea to add bacon into the mix and I thought this would be a great recipe to use up some of the vegetables that didn’t get eaten throughout the week. They turned out great and were so tasty I just had to share my take on the individual potato gratin.


Ingredients:

  • Potato
  • Sweet potato
  • Parsnip
  • Carrot
  • Leek
  • Mushroom
  • Bacon
  • Grated cheese
  • Mozzarella cheese
  • Double cream
  • Basil

Cooking instructions:

  1. Start by cutting the bacon (1 or 2 slices should be enough for 6 stacks) into small squares and fry/grill them until they are crispy.
  1. Next cut all the vegetables into thin slices (not too thick as they won’t cook properly).

IMG_2928

  1. Next grease your muffin tin with a little bit of oil and begin to layer the vegetables, bacon and grated cheese. Once the muffin cups are full to the top pour in the cream to cover all the vegetables.

IMG_2935

  1. Cook for 30 minutes at 180˚C, then add a slice of mozzarella cheese on top of each stack and cook for a further 10 minutes. I put my muffin tin onto another tray to catch any cream that bubbled over the edges so it didn’t drip onto my oven.

IMG_2943

  1. Once it’s done cooking scoop out each stack and add some basil on top for the finishing touch.

IMG_2951


I served these vegetable stacks with chicken wrapped in bacon and my family loved them!  I can’t wait to make them again and experiment using different ingredients. Thanks for reading and if you have any questions please feel free to leave a comment or contact me at paperandpanblog@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Vegetable Stacks

  1. Evelyn November 10, 2014 / 11:01 pm

    These look great! Love how everything is portioned out properly too! Was it hard cleaning the tin at the end though? Looks like that would have been a bit of a mission..

    Like

    • sophiielou November 10, 2014 / 11:11 pm

      They were delicious 🙂 It actually came right off. I was expecting a bit of a struggle but surprisingly it was fine. I gave it a quick rinse as soon as I got the stacks out and the muffin tin is quite new so I think it still has some of the non-stick which helped!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment